same teams

“What do you think God wants to do in your heart this week?”

I stared at the blank piece of paper with our discussion questions for the week, and I’m not gonna lie. I had a minor panic attack. That was an extremely loaded question and I had just met 4/4 of the women sitting with me (well, I’d met 2 of them a whopping two weeks prior, but still).  I murmured some stupid joke about requesting sugarcoating questions that I didn’t mean (Way to go Nicole, she now thinks you’re a heathen and an idiot). How can I possibly put into words what He’s teaching me without sounding like I’m a jerk? I am, after all relatively saved and would like to keep that impression going, thank you very much.

And then. It was in the middle of all this self preservation and let’s face it, fear, that I realized exactly why God is doing in my heart what He’s doing.  And my answer… well, quite frankly surprised the mess out of me because I had no idea I was able to put into any sort of words. And here’s the jist of what I said…

We are on the same team. All of us. And I think God is reminding me of that.  The Scarlet Thread in all of His dealings with me over the last two weeks (thank you Jessica) has been that.  We are on the same team. I am on the same team as every person who ever hurt me. Period. Believer or not. We are part of the same team.

“Because your fight has not been with flesh and blood, but with Principalities and The Rulers and The Powers of this dark world and with wicked spirits which are under Heaven.” – Ephesians 6:12 (Aramaic Bible in Plain English)

Here’s the deal. We have all been hurt by another human being, one way or another. Its inevitable. If you have never ever been hurt by another human being, I would kindly request the recipe for such an incredible feat all the while calling you a liar in my heart (well, it’s true).  Without proper focus, pain and hurt will turn into something ugly in our lives. It will keep our eyes on the instrument rather than the conductor. It breeds division in our hearts, in my heart with our brothers and sisters in a way that grieves Daddy God’s heart.  Because when we break it down, let’s face it… a good majority of our hurts come from well meaning folks who are just imperfect at loving. Just like you. Ephesians 6:12 resounds loudly in my heart and reminds me of that.

We are all on the same team. We are all God’s kids. We are all imperfect messes leaning on a patient Father. And those that don’t lean on the same God? They’re imperfect messes too! And they are just as loved by our patient Father.  Bottom line is this… it is of the utmost importance that we honor and bless and love and forgive our brothers and sisters.  It is of the utmost importance we cast off restraint when dealing with others… and I don’t mean that we have free reign to curse them out y’all. I mean cast off restraint in the way you love and interact and forgive and release and give to another human being.  Understanding this allows me the freedom to be vulnerable without the need for self-preservation.  Understanding and genuinely believing this sets our feet, our hearts and our lives in the way of the Kingdom. And honestly, it just sets us free y’all.

At the end of the day if they win, you win, I win and if they lose, I lose and you lose.  Celebrate their victories, mourn their losses.  That’s how teams work.

So, woop. There it is. That’s what God is doing in my heart this week Jessica. He is kindly reminding me and establishing Ephesians 6:12 in my heart so that I am better able to deal with inevitable hurt and rejection that will come my way.  Every sermon, every discussion, every page I have read this week reminds me of that.  That we are on the same team, no matter the differences, the hurt caused or inflicted or anything else that may attempt to separate us.  Because at the end of day, you are my brother, my sister and we have the best Dad in the world.

Agape,
Nicole

Leave a Reply

