remember love

There is a lot going on in the way of current events these days.  Terrorist attacks, a racial fight in our nation, there are wars, rumors of wars. Let’s say Matthew 24 is quickly coming into perspective… But the verse that most resounds in my Spirit isn’t the one about all the wars and the tribulation and all that.  It’s this…

“Because lawlessness is increased, most people’s love will grow cold.” (Matt 24:12)

I want to write this post to encourage my brothers and sisters in faith. As current events demand more of our time and my attention (because things are happening and I’m aware because I’m raising three children in this world), it is of the utmost importance that we take each and every event back to God. Opinions abound.  Ironically and especially from Christians (because shouldn’t our opinions be based solely on Scripture?) But not all of those opinions are sanctified.

Here’s the jist, y’all…

A lot of things are happening. A lot of ugly things. Humanity is seemingly coming undone and let’s face it, it’s a scary world out there without perspective. Issues will continue to come up that will demand that we, as believers, decide exactly how we’re going to react and respond.  Sin abounds.  That much is clear.  But where sin abounds, grace abounds even more (Romans 5:20). What I want to urge you, as my dear friends, is to remember love.  Scripture warns us that love will grow cold because of lawlessness.  The bad will be so bad we won’t remember the good.  And that can’t happen. I won’t let it.  I can’t. Not with me and not with my family.

In light of current events, remember love.  Take some time to really figure out how God feels about a matter before you share those 1,000 posts on Facebook on why Hilary sucks and why gay marriage is the undoing of familial values in our culture (yes. I’ve read that article).  Use your words, your newsfeeds, your lives to say something that matters, something that reveals to Creation that we are the Sons of God (Romans 8:19).  Because we are.  And all of it is waiting for us to act like it. Being judgmental, critical, pettily trumpeting the things that don’t matter and forgetting love isn’t becoming of the Sons of God.  Love is.  Love is what drove Christ in every encounter.  According to Scripture He was moved to action with it (Matthew 9:36, 14:14, Mark 6:34 to name a few).  It was the very core of who He was.  And for those of us who forget, Paul plainly explains what love is in 1 Corinthians.

“Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighetousness, but rejoices with the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.” (1 Corinthians 13:4-9a)

If your opinions on a matter don’t line up with above mentioned description, I encourage you to take a break and re-evaluate. Don’t be afraid to sit on a topic for a long time. I have.  When gay marriage was legalized, I sat on it for a while.  I’ve been sitting on this “Black Lives Matter” movement for a long time.  I have been waiting, carefully seeking the heart of God.  And I don’t speak until I know how He feels. I make every effort to remember love. I want to be like Christ, moved by it and with it.

That’s the only way we’re going to rightfully manifest that we are the Sons of God.  That is the only way we will correctly display and share the Gospel.  It’s the only way.

xo, Nicole

 

Leave a Reply

