words, the republican debate & America.

It’s that glorious time in history again where America (or rather the electoral college) begins the process in choosing her leader for the next four years.  I’m not particularly fond of the political posts on Facebook and how mean people get during the process, but that’s neither here nor there.

Last night, after watching the Republican party debate, I was comforted to see several people who could earn my vote. Nonetheless, I laid in bed and talked to Jesus.  He knows them better than I, and I wanted to press in and hear what He had to say.  Instead of give me His thoughts on Presidency, He shocked and challenged me in the way only He knows how to.

The last few months I have practiced the discipline of speaking forth truth in the middle of challenging circumstances and speaking life over doubt and fear and anxiety.  It has transformed my world.  My world.  My mind has been renewed and it’s easy to see God moving instead of the death, doom and destruction that seem to be trumpeted from several sectors of the American Church.  That being said, when I asked God about the upcoming elections and the nominees, and let’s face it, Hilary Clinton (because, by golly she will not be our president), He told me to speak.  To change the culture of America with my words.  He told me that the elections were in my hand, and the Church’s hand.  And that we have the ability to shift an entire culture with grace and truth filled words that precede grace and truth filled actions.  I don’t know if you know this, but our words tend to lead us.  That’s what they’re meant to do.  Scripture tells us that “life & death is found in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruit.” (Prov 18:21)

My God created the very universe we are fascinated with a Word. And I am created in His image.  So are you.  So, why can’t we shift the culture of this nation with our words y’all? Why can’t we believe that our outrageous, miraculous God will do His thing and shock us all? I believe it.  I have every confidence that our nation will have herself an intellectual, qualified, faith-filled individual as a leader with next year’s election.  I may be crazy, but I know my God can and does do crazy things everyday.

As a believer, I want to encourage you. Speak life over this nation. Speak life over the Presidential candidates.  Speak life over this election and watch God move.  He is for America.  He loves her.  And He will work all things for her good.

Leave a Reply

