first lesson at work

Something kind of crazy has taken place in the last 7 days.  Ladies & Gentlemen, I have officially transitioned from stay-at-home mom to a working mom.  I don’t work 40 hours but I work enough to merit the working mom label.  No.  It wasn’t the dream job we’d previously talked about.  But this job, was a gift and assignment from God I think.  I’m excited to tell y’all about it at some point.  Maybe in the next week or so.  But, truthfully… something else weighs on my heart today.  I guess I’ll have to tell you a little bit about the job for you to be able to understand where I’m coming from.

I am a partial personal assistant to a wealthy man.  A very wealthy man, y’all. That being said, I mainly manage his home (a large home.  A very large home) along with a few of his personal details.  The Husband and I firmly believe we have been led to this job and to this opportunity. So, as I prayed about this job, about the mission and the purpose for it,  the Lord led me to 1 Timothy 6:17-19.  I knew that I couldn’t become a working mom for the sole purpose of working.  The Lord had to guide me there with a divine plan.  We were willing to say yes, no matter how small the purpose, but, there had to be a purpose.  And this is what I got:

“Instruct those who are rich in this present world not to be conceited or to fix their hope on the uncertainty of riches, but on God, who richly supplies us with all things to enjoy.  Instruct them to do good, to be rich in good workes, to be generous and ready to share, storing up for themselves, the treasure of a good foundation for the future, so that they may take hold of that which is life indeed.”    — 1 Timothy 6:17-19

I believe Jesus loves the man I work for enough to call me out of my place at home, place me in his to intercede, demonstrate the Gospel without words and invite the Lord to hedge this man in.  Because y’all, this man I work for is broken.  He is outstanding and talented, and he has everything a man could want or hope for, but he is in a lonely place and I am now convinced Jesus wants to bring him to a place of Hosea 2.  He keeps everyone at least an arm’s length away.  He doesn’t trust anyone because everyone wants to use him for his money.  And even though he’s loaded, he’s still in hot pursuit of more money.  And for what?  He already has everything.  Having the understanding of Jesus and eternity and the worth I have in Him, my heart mourns for this man and his empty pursuit.  I don’t say or mean it in any form of disrespect y’all.  I’m saying this because I am sad.  Genuinely sad for him.

And all this has taught me something.  It’s been less than 48 hours since I’ve been employed with him, and I can honestly say I am already learning and God is already teaching me lessons.  Y’all, I have decided I never ever want to be that wealthy.  I never want to pursue the riches this man has.  Not that I could or that my efforts would amount to anything, but if I ever could or would, I have decided I just don’t want it.  America spends the majority of her time and energy on more money.  We’ve built the pursuit of money and things on our foundation, and it is debilitating us! It is isolating individuals that are surrounded by people and it is causing us to forget the intent of life and the joy found in the little things.

I’m on a journey for this man.  Whatever will come of it, the Lord will decide.  But I’ve been called to walk this right now and for as long as He calls, I’ll walk this road.  I would love to know y’all are praying for me.  And for him. For this man.

And more so, I would love for you to allow the Lord to deal with the issue of money in our hearts.  Truly.  Because I thought I had and yet encountering a man who most could or would envy (for a few minutes, I have to admit, I thought it’d be nice to have an unlimited credit card and a mansion) I have learned that I hadn’t really dealt with it.  And now I want to.  I want to remove the love of money in my heart by its root, throw it to the bottom of the ocean and never pick it up again!

I love y’all, and I’m praying for you.

 signature

Leave a Reply

