on prayer

Prayer lays hold of God’s plan and becomes the link between His will and its accomplishment on earth. Amazing things happen, and we are given the privilege of being the channels of the Holy Spirit’s prayer.”  –Elisabeth Elliot

I have been thinking a lot about prayer lately. I believe in prayer. Obviously. We attend the Orlando House of Prayer. I pray.

I mean. Duh.

But as I continue to pray for guidance and wisdom and a leading for this next season, in prayer I feel led to prayer.

Does that sound crazy?

I am looking for work, for mission, for purpose and crying out to God in prayer for it.  But while I am praying, He just reminds me of that quote I read a long time ago…

“Prayer is not preparation for the greater work. It is the greater work.”

Who wrote it?  Did I hear it from George at a Remnant Service long ago? Maybe it was in a book or just a Facebook status? Hmm. Either way, it’s what keeps resounding in my spirit.

And then today, that friend called.  The one that keeps me sharp and on straight ballet pointe in my walk with Christ.  And she shares with me how her four year old daughter is already walking with the Lord, understanding aspects of His grace.  And my heart breaks, because if we’re being honest, my Liberty sometimes resists the Gospel. She is still young and our God is sovereign… but still. The pointe is that, she feels this is all happening quickly because she’s had to rely on prayer for her little one’s heart. See, she’s living with her unbelieving parents at the moment so opportunities to do devotionals have been limited.  She is still active in demonstrating faith (it is who this family is after all), but she can’t do all that she was used to.  But it is in the time when my ballet recital friend has devoted herself to the only tool that she has available to protect and guide her little one’s heart and mind that she has seen the most fruit.

Devotionals and crafts haven’t done it.  Scripture memorization hasn’t done it.  It has been the devoted prayers of a righteous mother.

“The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.
– James 5:16b

And God continues to drive the point home.

As I got home from Target today, I suddenly realized that God answered and fulfilled two small, silly desires in my heart.  They’re totally not life altering answered prayers, but the fact of the matter is that they were whispers from my heart to God’s that no one else knew.  No. One.  But He did.  He knows my heart, hears my whispers and is mighty enough to answer even my silly little whims (please note. I am NOT by any any any means saying God answers every whim or desire. I am merely sharing with you how He used the silliest answered prayer/desires to lift my vision higher and catch my attention toward the bigger message!).  And in that, I was reminded that He listens, He partners and He is able and willing.

The fact of the matter remains that God longs for our prayers and is ready, willing and able to meet us where we are and to use our prayers to change history. Let me rephrase that.  Because I need to fully understand this. See, I have always wanted to change the world.  It’s my life’s mission.  Genuinely and truly.  If I cannot change the world, I will have wasted away life and I just can’t, won’t, do that.

God longs for my prayers. And He is willing and able to meet me where I am, changing diapers, folding laundry, attending play dates, distracted, frustrated, knee deep in Goldfish and with the Frozen soundtrack stuck in my head (Let it Go, anyone?).  The Creator of the Universe, Alpha Omega, Savior God Jesus Christ desires and even longs to hear my prayers.

Prayers for my babies and for my husband.
Prayers for unsaved friends and unchurched neighbors.
Prayers for revival and spirit of truth, revelation. Prayers for character training in my life.
Prayers for specific things yet untold but revealed to His servants.
And on and on and on it goes.

Because in this season [and every], prayer is my mission.

I have been seeking to change the world and impact history with works.  My works, my abilities, with just a little bit of divine inspiration.  But.  I have forgotten that the Creator of the Universe, the Alpha, the Omega, the Savior Jesus Christ, the Sustainer is my eternal partner and groom.  I am literally at His side, to be united with Him (Eph 2:6, 1 Cor 6:17).   Prayer is the action that accesses Heaven’s resources and releases them to the earth. It is the ultimate world changing tool.  It accesses and releases the Kingdom of God all the while keeping a man humble and hidden, in a place of bent knee and prostrated heart. This God of ours is a genius, y’all.

So, while this flame burns deep inside my heart to change the world, to do something, I think I will begin by taking it to the Lord in prayer. And then I will continue by bringing it to the Lord in prayer and I will conclude by leaving it at His feet in prayer.  I will have a willing heart that whispers yes to His bidding and His instruction, but until there’s a direct plan of action as a result of prayer, my heart will be content knowing that I am indeed, fulfilling the work. In Prayer.

May God break my heart so completely that the whole world falls in.”
Mother Teresa

One thought on “on prayer

  1. Awesome. God used this to convict me that I need to be spending much more time in prayer. Great writing. Thank you for the encouragement, it was just what I needed tonight.

Leave a Reply

