oops! a mothering post.

“No amount of training is going to override the certainty of sin developing in the child’s life, but the training parents give can lessen the child’s addiction to the flesh and make it easier for repentance to follow his sinful indulgence… You hold an eternal soul in your hands. You cannot afford to give in to weariness, indifference, laziness, or careless neglect!”

-excerpt from “To Train Up a Child” by Michael & Debi Pearl

 

Okay, I said this blog wouldn’t be about things parenting and jazz. This blog is about what Jesus is doing in my life.  But see, this is what Jesus is doing in my life.

See, I catch myself being the kind of parent I really don’t want to be.  The Mom that threatens and doesn’t follow up.  The Mom that yells and becomes frustrated with the children.  You know, Psycho Mom? I do a very horrible job at exhibiting Jesus to my kids y’all if I can be honest.  I’m tired, no, exhausted, most days and I have lost myself in pretty much every aspect of living, including mothering.  I set the bar at Super Mom when I can barely make it up to Nice Mom. 

It’s true. I’m sorry if you think differently. But it’s true. 

This isn’t a woe is me post.  Legit. 
It’s a confession post.  It’s a “time to get real” post.  Because social media can be deceiving, and I’m not about any of that. 
And apparently, neither is Jesus.

So, in His mercy towards me and my children, He continues to speak to me right along the lines of the quote posted above.  He reminds me that His desire and His purpose is for me to train my children. “Train up a child in the way he should go; and when he is old, he will not depart from it.” (Prov 22:6).  And He has given me the grace and ability to do so well.

My grace is sufficient for you; My power is perfected in your weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)
Praise Jesus for His power perfected in this weak Mama’s attempts!

“…seeing that His divine power has granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness, through the true knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and excellence.” (2 Peter 1:3)

So, even though this post isn’t about mothering or anything like that, I’m sure nuggets of wisdom will spring forth about our Heavenly Father as He guides me through becoming a better mom to the littles He’s entrusted me with.

I really hope you’ll stick around!

Leave a Reply

